Belief in myself

22 02 2010

I decided to write a little personal post because I think you guys deserve to know the heart of where these words you read are coming from…

As I let the initial publication of this post settle in for me over the past couple of weeks, I’ve realized that I’m not scared to be great, what I’m scared of is how that greatness is going to be perceived. My life’s purpose, as I’ve come to realize is to be a light. To really connect with people and be the person that is going to make them laugh when time is hard. By containing myself, it’s selfish. Why trap the person I am when the person I am serves a purpose. I guess i’ve realized that in order to be successful I must accept success, I must accept that I have greatness in me. It’s not arrogant. It’s not showing off. It’s who i am. So I am going to continue to strive, to stay positive in the midst of negativity, and turn No’s to Yes’s. I get that this world wants to reject you, it’s easier, in probably every area in ones life. It’s that we recognize that and continue to persevere.  As a creative being with a raw talent for singing, I often struggle finding the confidence to sing in front of others, to reveal to people what I really can do with my voice. Not that I get stage fright, more so that I have never been given a singing lesson in my life. I have never been critiqued on how I sing. I don’t know that I even have a decent voice. Finding my voice has been an direct parallel with finding myself.

In the end though, I know God gave me this gift for a reason. I feel so anxious knowing I have it in me and I have no way to share that with the world. I never thought school was for me. Every couple of months it hits me.. what am I doing here? Shouldn’t I be packing my bags and pursuing my dream? I get it though. This is my solid foundation, this is my future career I’m preparing for. Once I graduate college.. that’s my time. Who knows what the future holds, but for now I want to share with you all how I’ve progressed as a singer..

This was the first time I ever sang in public. The first time I let anyone, outside of my family, see that I even have a voice. One of my teachers, who never really believed in me, was one of the judges. I showed her ; )

This was my first open mic. You’ll see forgetting the words is a nervous trend of mine.

Most recently.. I’m finally finding my voice, just gotta get rid of those nerves!

Anywho, thanks for checkin out my blog! Now go and be anyone you want to be.. run children runnnnn

Peace, love, and “I love shrimp” aprons


Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2010
cheetah girl

why did you have to bring tears to my eyes???? you are so amazing and i am blessed to know such an inspiration to truly live the life you love in you my dear kankles!! xo.

4 03 2010
ohshanaenae

aw cheets, little do you know you are an inspiration to me! i think all the time, WWCD.. what would cheetah do? i love you girl, i’m blessed to have you in my life as well 🙂

Leave a comment